# Administrative and committee assignments 2016-17

(Last year's members are indicated where relevant.)

#### 1. CENTRAL ADMINISTRATIVE FUNCTIONS

Chair: Morris Associate Chair: Stairs Chair Advisory committee (by election) Levinson, Rey, Singpurwalla

#### 2. TEACHING AND SCHEDULING

Scheduling officer: Stairs

Scheduling committee (& PCC): Stairs (chair), Moller (DGS), Singpurwalla (DUS), Morris (Dept chair)

#### 3. GRADUATE PROGRAM

Director of Graduate Studies: Moller

Graduate Affairs Committee (faculty only for fellowships and awards):

Faculty: Moller (DGS), Bub, Greenspan, Woo

Students: Andrew Fyfe, Kenneth Hall, Javiera M. Perez-Gomez

Graduate Admissions: Moller (chair), Levinson, Pacuit, Rev

Graduate Placement: Darden, Pacuit

#### 4. UNDERGRADUATE PROGRAM

Director of Undergraduate Studies/Honors Coordinator: Singpurwalla

Assistant Director of Undergraduate Studies: Chris Vogel

Undergraduate Affairs Committee: Singpurwalla (DUS), Vogel (Asst dir), Greenspan, Pacuit, Rey, Williams (spring), Sungwon Woo. Morris and Stairs ex officio.

Undergraduate Advisors: Kelsey Gipe, Michael McCourt

Students: [to be chosen]

3 subcommittees: public lectures and debates, teaching (co-chaired?), learning outcomes assessment

#### 5. Ad hoc committees:

Senior and junior search: Carruthers (chair), Darden, Horty, Kerstein, Rey, Moonyoung Song Snider position: Moller (chair), Pacuit, Singpurwalla, Rajshree Agarwal

Tenure/promotion committee (Lyon): Bub (chair), Horty, Rey, Stairs

PTK policies: Morris, Stairs, Carruthers, Kerstein, Horty

#### 6. Lectures, panels, colloquia, conferences

Philosophy Department Colloquium: ?? Cog Scie Colloquium: Carruthers

Physics Conference: Bub

## 7. Salary/merit committee

Salary committee: Levinson, Rey, Williams

Post-tenure reviews (fac. to be reviewed by merit/salary committee): Moller, Rey, Singpurwalla

#### 8. MISCELLANEOUS

Website: Pacuit, Horty, Lyon, Williams

Library Liaison: Horty

Ombudsperson: Greenspan, Singpurwalla

#### 9. COLLEGE OR UNIVERSITY COMMITTEES

ARHU Collegiate Council representative: Levinson

Senate Representative: Bub

College APT Committee: Carruthers

Distinguished University Professor Selection Committee: Bub

IPST Salary committee: Bub

Joint Committee on Quantum Information and Computer Science (QuICS): Bub

Undergrad Studies review committee for Scholarship in Practice: Stairs Undergrad Studies review committee for Analytic Reasoning: Stairs

Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee: Darden

# Committee assignments for 2016-17:

onerous departmental assignments in **bold** (positions w. course releases: chair, asso. chair, DGS, DUS)

### Faculty on research leave:

Fall: Bub (sabbatical), Carruthers (research leave), Horty (part of NEH), Kerstein (sabbatical), Lyon (1 course release), Pietroski (research leave), Williams (sabbatical)

Spring: Bub (IPST), Darden (1 course release), Lyon (1 course release)

18 faculty (2 half-time); 14 faculty = on research leave or a course release or full-time admin position

Bub: tenure/promotion committee chair; grad affairs committee; physics colloquium

Senate representative; DUP Selection Committee; IPST Salary committee

Carruthers: search committee chair; ad hoc PTK policies committee; cog sci colloquium

College APT Committee

Darden: placement; search committee

Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee

Greenspan: grad. affairs committee; undergrad affairs committee; ombudsperson

Horty (NEH): search committee; tenure/promotion committee; www site committee; library liaison; ad hoc PTK policies committee

IPL editor

Kerstein: search committee; ad hoc PTK policies committee

Levinson: admissions; ARHU Collegiate Council rep; merit/salary committee; chair advisory committee

(Manekin: Director of Meyerhoff Center of Jewish Studies)

Morris: chair; ad hoc PTK policies committee; ex officio undergrad committee

*Pietroski*: (½ time):

(Linguistics Dept committees)

Rey: search committee; admissions; undergrad affairs committee; tenure/promotion committee; merit/salary committee; chair advisory committee

Stairs: associate chair (& scheduling officer); tenure/promotion committee; ad hoc PTK policies committee, ex officio undergrad committee

Dwyer: (Executive Director of the Honors College)

Moller: DGS; admissions committee chair; Snider search chair

Singpurwalla: director of undergrad studies; Snider search committee; admissions; chair advisory committee; ombudsperson

Williams: (1/2 time): grad. affairs committee; undergrad affairs committee (spring)

(Linguistics Dept committees)

Lyon (60%): www site committee

Pacuit: www site committee; placement; Snider search committee; undergrad committee; admissions University committee on MOOCS