28 September 2015

Administrative and committee assignments 2015-16

(Last year's members are indicated where relevant.)

<u>1. CENTRAL ADMINISTRATIVE FUNCTIONS</u>

Chair: Morris Associate Chair: Stairs Chair Advisory committee (by election) Levinson, Pietroski, Rey

2. TEACHING AND SCHEDULING

Scheduling officer: Stairs

Scheduling committee (& PCC): Stairs (chair), Frisch (DGS), Stairs (DUS), Morris (Dept chair)

<u>3. GRADUATE PROGRAM</u>

Director of Graduate Studies: Frisch (Fall), tbd (Spring)

Graduate Affairs Committee (faculty only for fellowships and awards): Faculty: Frisch (DGS), Bub, Greenspan, Williams Students: Kyley Ewing, Jimmy Licon, and Julius Schoenherr Graduate Admissions: Moller (chair), Carruthers, Levinson, Singpurwalla

Graduate Placement: Darden, Pacuit

4. UNDERGRADUATE PROGRAM

Director of Undergraduate Studies/Honors Coordinator: Stairs

Undergraduate Affairs Committee: Stairs (DUS), Pacuit, Williams Undergraduate Advisors: Kelsey Gipe, Brock Rough Students: Kate Weiss, Jon Ochs, Ryan Carmody

Teaching Committee (new): Morris & Stairs (co-chairs), Greenspan, Lyon, Rey

5. COMMITTEE FOR THE REVISION OF DEPT DOCUMENTS

Morris (chair), Carruthers, Horty, Levinson

6. Ad hoc committees: Strategic Plan

tbd (spring term?)

7. Ad hoc committees: searches

Snider position: Moller (chair), Kerstein, Rajshree Agarwal

8. REVIEW COMMITTEES

Post-tenure reviews (fac. to be reviewed by merit/salary committee): Darden, Kerstein, Levinson, Pietroski, Stairs.

9. Lectures, panels, colloquia, conferences

Philosophy Department Colloquium: Singpurwalla, C. Phillips, E. Westra Public Lectures and Debates: ?? Cog Scie Colloquium: Carruthers Physics Conference: Bub

11. Salary/merit committee

Salary committee: Greenspan, Pacuit, Rey.

12. MISCELLANEOUS

Website: Pacuit, Lyon, Phillips Library Liaison: Horty Learning Outcomes Assessment Coordinator: Horty Ombudsperson: Greenspan, Singpurwalla Lounge Committee: ???

13. COLLEGE OR UNIVERSITY COMMITTEES

College PCC Committee: Kerstein

Review committee for the reappointment of the Dean: Pietroski

ARHU Collegiate Council representative: Kerstein (fall), Levinson (spring) Senate Representative: Bub Distinguished University Professor Selection Committee: Bub IPST Salary committee: Bub

Undergrad Studies review committee for Scholarship in Practice: Stairs Undergrad Studies review committee for Analytic Reasoning: Stairs Gen Ed committee (math/formal reasoning courses): Stairs

Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee: Darden

Honors Board: Rey

University UK Fellowships Committee: Dwyer

Committee assignments for 2015-16:

onerous departmental assignments in **bold** (the following come with course releases: chair, asso. chair, DGS, DUS)

18-19 faculty, 3 half-time, 9 or more not teaching in 1 term

Bub: grad affairs committee; physics colloquium Senate rep.; DUP Selection Committee; IPST Salary committee Carruthers: admissions, cog sci colloquium; document committee Darden: placement Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee Frisch (fall): DGS Greenspan: teaching committee; merit/salary committee; grad. affairs committee; ombudsperson Horty (NEH): Learning Outcomes Assessment; library liaison; documents committee; (JPL editor) Kerstein: (NIH spring) Snider search committee ARHU PCC committee; Collegiate Council rep (fall) Levinson: admissions; Chair Advisory committee; document committee Collegiate Council rep (spring) Manekin: (Director of Meyerhoff Center of Jewish Studies) Morris: chair; teaching committee Pietroski: (1/2 time): Chair Advisory committee; documents committee; Dean review committee Rey: teaching committee; merit/salary committee; Chair Advisory committee Student Honor Council Stairs: associate chair (& scheduling officer), dir. of undergrad studies (2015-16 only); undergrad affairs committee; teaching committee chair *Dwyer:* (Executive Director of the Honors College) Moller: admissions committee chair; Snider search chair

Moller: admissions committee chair; Snider search chair Singpurwalla: colloquium committee chair; admissions; ombudsperson Williams: (1/2 time): grad. affairs; undergrad

Lyon (60%): www site committee, teaching committee *Pacuit*: www site committee; placement; undergrad committee; merit/salary committee

2015-16 absences:

- *Fall:* Carruthers (sabbatical), Dwyer (sabbatical), Frisch (owed course release), Horty (NEH), Lyon (Munich, grant, UMd online course), Moller (RASA), Singpurwalla (sabbatical)
- Spring: Bub (IPST), Dwyer (Honors), Horty (NEH), Kerstein (NIH), Lyon (Munich, grant, UMd online course)