# Administrative and committee assignments 2013-14

(Last year's members are indicated where relevant.)

#### 1. CENTRAL ADMINISTRATIVE FUNCTIONS

Chair: Morris Associate Chair: Stairs Chair Advisory committee (by election Dwyer, Frisch, Kerstein)

#### 2. TEACHING AND SCHEDULING

Scheduling officer: Stairs

Scheduling committee: Stairs (chair), Frisch (DGS), Eaker (DUS), Morris (Dept chair)

#### 3. GRADUATE PROGRAM

Director of Graduate Studies: Frisch (position now includes TA coordinator)

Graduate Affairs Committee (faculty only for fellowships and awards):

Faculty: Frisch (DGS), Greenspan, Williams Students: Ryan Ogilvie, Xuan Wang, Evan Westra

Graduate Admissions: Rey (chair), Bub, Morris, Singpurwalla, Stairs

Graduate Placement: Kerstein, Moller (fall)

#### 4. UNDERGRADUATE PROGRAM

Director of Undergraduate Studies/Honors Coordinator: Eaker

Undergraduate Affairs Committee: Eaker (DUS), Dwyer, Pacuit, Singpurwalla,

Undergraduate Advisors: Chris Vogel, Mark Adams (fall)

Students: Kate Weiss, Jon Ochs, Ryan Carmody

#### 5. SELF-STUDY COMMITTEE FOR COLLEGE REVIEW OF DEPT

Morris (chair), Levinson, Pietroski, L. Gilman, L. DesAutels, S. Sanborn

#### 6. REVIEW COMMITTEES

Lyon mid-term review: Frisch (chair), Bub, Horty

Post-tenure reviews: Bub, Carruthers, Frisch, Greenspan, and Horty.

### 7. MISCELLANEOUS

Salary committee: Kerstein (2<sup>nd</sup> yr), Dwyer, Pacuit

Philosophy Department Colloquium: Lyon, Levinson (fall)

Public Lectures and Debates: Morris

News Officer: Darden? (rethink this position, merge with www site)

Website: Pacuit, Phillips

Library Liaison: Horty

Learning Outcomes Assessment Coordinator: Horty

Ombudsperson: ??

### **8. COLLEGE OR UNIVERSITY COMMITTEES**

Senate Representative: Moller (fall only?)

Senate Plan of Organization Review Committee (PORC): Kertein

ARHU Collegiate Council representative: Singpurwalla

College APT Committee: Pietroski

College APAC: Pietroski?

Gen Ed committee (math/formal reasoning courses): Stairs

Gen Ed committee (Scholarship in Practice courses): Stairs

Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee: Darden

Dept Honors Program Director: Dwyer

University UK Fellowships Committee: Dwyer

College Fellowships Committee: Dwyer

Graduate School Summer Dissertation Fellowships Committee: Dwyer

Graduate School Flagship Fellowship: Dwyer?

Distinguished University Professor Selection Committee: Bub

IPST APT committee: Bub IPST Salary committee: Bub

Honor Review Board, Honor Council and Office of Student Conduct: Rey

## Faculty on leave:

### 2015-16

Fall: Lyon (Munich, grant), Frisch? (Munich, online course) Spring: Bub (IPST), Frisch? (Munich?), Lyon (??)

#### 2014-15

Fall: Bub (RASA), Lyon (Munich, grant), Morreau (Trømso), Eric Pacuit (pre-tenure leave) Spring: Bub (IPST), Frisch (RASA), Horty RASA), Lyon (pre-tenure leave?)

#### 2013-14

Fall: Carruthers (RASA), Bub (Templeton), Horty (sabbatical), Lyon (Munich, grant), Morreau (Trømso) Spring: Bub (IPST), Darden (unpaid leave), Levinson (sab.), Lyon (pre-tenure leave), Moller (sabbatical), Rey

#### 2012-13

Fall: Bub, Dwyer (RASA), Frisch (Munich), Lyon (partial leave), Rey (sab.), Singpurwalla Spring: Bub, Frisch (Munich), Lyon, Manekin (the first three partial leaves)

## Committee assignments for 2013-14:

onerous assignments in **bold** (course releases: chair, asso. chair, DGS, DUS)

21 faculty, 3 half-time

Bub: (leave fall, spring):

Carruthers (leave fall): cog sci colloquium

Darden (leave spring): news officer?; animal committee

Frisch: **DGS**; Chair Advisory Committee

Greenspan: grad. affairs committee

*Horty*: library liaison; (*IPL* editor); **LOA** 

Kerstein: placement; Chair Advisory Committee

Levinson: colloquium co-chair (fall); program review committee

Manekin: Jewish Studies

Morris: chair

Pietroski: (1/2 time): College APAC; College APT committee; program review committee; committees in

Linguistics

Rey (leave spring): admissions chair

Stairs: associate chair (& scheduling officer)

Dwyer: undergrad affairs; Chair Advisory Committee;

Moller: Senate rep. (fall); placement (fall)

Morreau:

Eaker: **DUS** 

Lyon: colloquium committee co-chair

Pacuit: web site redesign; undergrad affairs committee
Singpurwalla: undergrad affairs committee, ARHU Collegiate Council

Williams: (1/2 time): grad. affairs

## Committee assignments for 2012-13:

onerous assignments in **bold** (course releases: chair, asso. chair, DGS, DUS)

21 faculty, 3 half-time

Bub: (leave fall) admissions; promotion sub-committee

Carruthers: DGS; grad. affairs; College APT committee; promotion sub-committee; cog sci colloquium

Darden: grad. affairs; promotion sub-committee; FAC; news officer; animal committee

Greenspan: promotion sub-committee chair; FAC

Horty: promotion sub-committee; library liaison; FAC; (JPL editor); RASA board; LOA

Levinson: admissions; promotion sub-committee; ARHU Collegiate Council rep.

Manekin: (1/2 time, leave spring) promotion sub-committee

Morris: **chair**; art hist. chair search chair Pietroski: (½ time): College APAC Rey (leave fall): **admissions chair** 

Stairs: associate chair (& scheduling officer); promotion sub-committee chair

Dwyer: (leave fall) Frisch: (leave)

Kerstein: placement; promotion sub-committee chair

Morreau: undergrad. affairs

Eaker: **DUS** 

Lyon: colloquium committee chair

Moller: grad. affairs; placement; Senate rep.

Pacuit: web site redesign Singpurwalla: (leave fall)

Williams: (1/2 time) undergrad. affairs,

Faculty available for major committee assignments:

Bub, Jeffrey

Carruthers, Peter (Fall leave)

Darden, Lindley (Spring leave)

Dwyer, Susan

Eaker, Erin

Frisch, Mathias

Greenspan, Patricia S.

Horty, John (Fall leave)

Kerstein, Samuel J.

Levinson, Jerrold (spring leave)

Lyon, Aidan (fall leave)

Manekin, Charles

Moller, Dan (Spring leave)

Morreau, Michael (gone?)

Morris, Christopher

Pacuit, Eric

Pietroski, Paul

Rey, Georges (spring leave)

Singpurwalla, Rachel

Stairs, Allen

Williams, Alexander